The AGG Joseph Barnes Award

was established by the American Glass Guild in 2008 andis a service award presented to individuals who serve the glass community with a kindness toward others and an enthusiasm for the glass industry.  Artists, conservators, craftspeople, art historians, etc., are eligible. 

Joe Barnes received this inaugural award from the American Glass Guild, honoring his lifetime dedication to the stained glass industry. Joe’s career has spanned over 60 years, of which almost 40 are with Bendheim.

“Joe’s love of people and deeply rooted work ethic have made him a great asset to Bendheim and the stained glass industry,” said Robert Jayson, President of Bendheim. “Joe is known to be the first man in to work and one of the last to leave; one of the few who can always be relied upon to do the job, no matter what the task. I cannot imagine how many thousands of people he has helped with color selection, substitutions, shipping questions or just “how-to” advice. From assisting visitors to our warehouse to answering a telephone call, Joe has always been there to help.”

Before joining Benheim, Joe worked for Leo J. Popper and Sons in New York City.  He was beloved by many for his extensive knowledge of glass and for his enthusiasm in customer service. He was quoted as saying, ““I love working with glass. It has charm, beauty and so many design possibilities, there is so much you can do with it. The other great part of this job is working with people. I enjoy talking to them and helping them choose their glass.”

AGG Committees

Board of Directors
Kathy Jordan, President
David Fode,Vice President
Cynthia Courage, Secretary
Carol Slovikosky, Treasurer

   Vic Rothman

   Amy Valuck

   Dan White

   Troy Moody

   Donald Burt


AGG Senior Advisors

E. Crosby Willet

Sylvia Nicolas

Patrick Reytiens

Jean-Jacques Duval

Barbara Krueger

Jack Cushen

Ellen Mandelbaum

Saara Gallin

Carol Slovikosky, Chair
Janet Lipstreu
Joseph 2Bears

2020 Conference
Tony Glander, Conference Chair
Tony Glander, Program Chair

J. Kenneth Leap, Chair
Judith Schaechter

David Fode, Chair

Melissa Janda

David Crane

Graham Fox

Jenna Lambrecht

Art Femenella
Tony Glander

Don Burt, Chair
Carol Slovikosky

Long Range Planning
Maria Serpentino, Chair

Marketing and Publicity
Daniel White
Tony Glander
Patrice Schelkun

JW Phillips

Greg Stefan

 Troy Moody

Tony Glander

JW Phillips 

Daniel White, Chair

JW Phillips

Bulletin Board
Rebecca Hartman-Baker

Nominating Committee
Maria Serpentino, Chair

Amy Valuck, Auction Chair
Kathy Jordan, President
Daniel White

Tony Glander
Kathy Jordan, President

Juried Exhibition: American Glass Now